Tennessee election 2018: State Republicans remove 7 Senate candidates, 1 governor candidate from ballot

The state Republican Party took action Saturday to remove seven Senate candidates and one gubernatorial candidate from the August ballot because they lacked the voting credentials to justify running as Republicans.

The political subcommittee of the Republican Party executive committee recommended removing the candidates from the primary ballot for “failing to meet the bona fide standards set” in party bylaws.

The state GOP’s rules require that candidates be active members of the party and vote in three of four statewide Republican primaries in their counties of residence.

The Senate candidates wiped off the ballot are David Anderson, Rashard Lamar Coker, Larry Crim, Tommy Hay, Theresa Honeycutt, J Darrell Lynn and Ronaldo Toyos. The gubernatorial candidate removed from the ballot is Eddie Murphy.

Republican Party chairman Scot Golden must now provide the list of names to be removed to the Tennessee Secretary of State.

“The Tennessee Republican Party has always been an organization that encouraged new membership and involvement,” Golden said in a statement released to the media Saturday. “However, we do have in place a set of rules for determining who we allow to run as our party’s standard bearers.

“We want to ensure that the candidates seeking our nomination are active and invested in the Republican Party in Tennessee and today the State Executive Committee followed the process laid out in our bylaws to do just that.”



Staff Favourites View more

Staff Favourites
When you or our staff find great progressive news articles, we post them here. Send along your personal favourite story links to: favourites (at) ukprogressive (dot) co (dot) uk and we may select it for publication.

Leave a Comment